April Reading Update # 2

April is going much better than March in terms of reading. I’ve been reading a mix of thrillers, horror, fantasy, and literary fiction. That being said, I haven’t read a 5 star book in at least a couple of months (booo). I try not to give too much weight to my book ratings though. I still consider a 3.5 star rating a positive reading experience. I’ve just become pickier about where I give my 4 and 5 star ratings because I reserve those for my absolute favorite books. I’ll be closing in on nearly 30 books by the end of the quarter. Usually, my reading is slow at the beginning of the year so I’m surprised I’ve read this much already. And I’ve been reading less audiobooks.

Just Finished

My reviews for the first two books are linked to my Goodreads. I haven’t yet reviewed The Familiar, but I linked my page for when I do. Not gonna lie, it was a disappointing experience for me.

Current Reads 

  • All Sinners Bleed by S.A. Cosby // 30%
  • The Dragon Republic by R.F. Kuang // 8%
  • The House on the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune // 1%

I’m hoping to finish out this month with a bang and get through these three books in the next couple of weeks. I’m really liking All the Sinners Bleed so far considering I DNFed the author’s previous book. I’m trying to squeeze in more reading this month even though I have still have stuff to get done in preparation for my trip next month. I’m also excited for my May TBR because Cindy just announced the 5th (or 6th) Asian Readathon and I’ve already picked out what I plan to read. I’ll make sure to share closer to the date.

In case I didn’t tell you all, I adopted a kitten a month ago and I can’t believe I didn’t consider it sooner. I adore my cat. She’s sweet and very high energy, which surprised me. Life has been meh lately so I feel like she keeps me on my toes. I do have a dog but she has become so lazy, haha.

I hope you’re having a good reading year so far.

See you soon!

-Vanessa

Leave a comment